Short form bio: Don Walker’s songs have been mapping Australia, from Kings Cross to “regional towns – maybe the race-track end of things – and the spaces between”, for thirty years, through solo albums and shows, a couple of albums with Tex Don and Charlie, back to his youth as a member of Cold Chisel. His most recent solo album, Cutting Back, was released by Warners in 2006. Don's latest tour with his band, the SF's, will feature new songs among the old. They will be his first live performances since the release of Shots, his first book, in 2009.
Long form bio: DON WALKER
Don Walker was born in Ayr, North Queensland, in 1951. As a member of and main songwriter for Cold Chisel between 1973 and 1983 he wrote "Saturday Night", "Cheap Wine", "Standing on the Outside", "Four Walls", "Khe Sahn" along with many others, and co-wrote "Flame Trees". He also wrote and produced the soundtrack for the Scott Hicks movie "Freedom" in 1981, featuring most of Cold Chisel and then unknown INXS singer Michael Hutchence. In 1989, after a break from music spent traveling, he released "Unlimited Address", a set of songs under the band name Catfish, recorded with producer/guitar player Peter Walker and harmonica player David Blight. As a touring band Catfish also included guitar player Charlie Owen. In 1991 the second Catfish album, "Ruby", was released, recorded with James Brown's rhythm section of drummer Tony Cook and guitar player Ron Laster. The songs were more Australian in content. Slim Dusty had a hit with his version of "Charleville", which he then invited Don to re-record as a duet. In 1993 the Tex, Don and Charlie album, "Sad But True" was released in Australia and Europe. A collaboration with Tex Perkins and Charlie Owen, "Sad But True" showed the first results of the songwriting Walker had been doing in Nashville the previous two years. Tex, Don and Charlie toured, recording and releasing the live album "Monday Morning Coming Down". In 1994 Don Walker recorded his first solo album "We're All Gunna Die" over four days at Electric Avenue Studios in Sydney, with a touring band featuring David Blight and Red Rivers on guitar. Released in 1995, it was reviewed as "a masterpiece" and "possibly the best Australian album released in years". That same year Origin Records re-released the Freedom soundtrack. In 1998 Cold Chisel released their first studio album for fifteen years entitled "The Last Wave of Summer", which entered the national charts at number one, and followed it up with a 22 date national tour. In 2005 Don, Tex Perkins and Charlie Owen recorded and released the widely acclaimed “All Is Forgiven”, their first album together for twelve years, and completed a sold- out tour to showcase that album. In 2006 “All Is Forgiven” was nominated for the inaugural Australian Music Prize. In July 2006 Don’s second solo album, “Cutting Back”, was released by Warners, and he toured live with the Suave Fucks, featuring Red Rivers on guitar. Over the years Don has also written songs for Jeff Lang, Mick Harvey, Troy Cassar-Daley, Jimmy Little, Jimmy Barnes, Ian Moss, Anne Kirkpatric and many others. In 2000 he wrote the title song for Slim Dusty’s hundredth album "Looking Forward, Looking Back". Don’s first book, “Shots”, was published by Black Inc. in 2009.



line.gif (380 bytes)

This Web Site is maintained by Jerome Withers - Page last updated 12 May 2004